Garden Blogger’s Foliage Day – September 2011

There is Christina from her Garden of the Hesperides inaugurating this foliage meme, I like the way she explains how foliage is one of the most lasting presence in our gardens, surely more than flowers, and as creating nice textures and forms mixes is one of my priority too I join happily this meme of hers.

Rubus thibetanus mingles with eupatorium rugosum 'Chocolate'.

Rubus thibetanus mingles with eupatorium rugosum 'Chocolate'.

Foliage in the garden could add structure, like shaped shrubs of boxes for example

Potted boxes look like the bench's bodyguards, by the pool. The yellow daisies bending over are helianthus salicifolius, a big perennial that I mostly keep for the texture of the plant rather than for the flowers.

Potted boxes look like the bench's bodyguards, by the pool. The yellow daisies bending over are helianthus salicifolius, a big perennial that I mostly keep for the texture of the plant rather than for the flowers.

Useless to say, when I think of foliage my mind suddenly goes for grasses. I love the way they can catch light and add movement to the garden…

Muhlenbergia capilaris almost coming into bloom, very sparkly!

Muhlenbergia capilaris almost coming into bloom, very sparkly!

This is one of my latest entry: bothriochloa bladhii, planted next to a common salvia officinalis and the pinkish cloud on the background is panicum 'Warrior'

This is one of my latest entry: bothriochloa bladhii, planted next to a common salvia officinalis and the pinkish cloud on the background is panicum 'Warrior'

We had mist last night and the drops left over smooth leaves made them glistening to the sun.

Hypericum inodorum 'Jessica' with euphorbiala lathyrus and a pennisetum seedling on the background.

Hypericum inodorum 'Jessica' with euphorbiala lathyrus and a pennisetum seedling on the background.

A close-up of the hypericum, with flowers and seeds at the same time, this is a great selection.

A close-up of the hypericum, with flowers and seeds at the same time, this is a great selection.

Ok I’d like to end this post with pennisetum ‘Magic’, I told him about your appreciations about him, so it kind of bowed to say you ‘thank you’. Obviously the image has been taken on stage at the end of its last concert (it’s in tournèe now).

Please note the nice leaves of vitex agnus castus on the background (right) too.

Please note the nice leaves of vitex agnus castus on the background (right) too.

And please meet pennisetum ‘Magic’ progeny:

Flowers have this blood red tinge, unlike 'Magic' which is more purple. I like this new color though.

Flowers have this blood red tinge, unlike 'Magic' which is more purple. I like this new color though.

15 thoughts on “Garden Blogger’s Foliage Day – September 2011

    • Hi Patrick! I think I’ve heard it too… uhm… ah yes! In your blog! 🙂 Box hedges are on the base of the classical italian garden, mine, however, is only ‘Made in Italy’ but not really ‘italian’.
      I’m honored you love my garden. I think my garden loves you too. 🙂

  1. Great post, Alberto, beautiful Muhlenbergia capilaris, anthother grass I’ve not heard of. I really believe I could be happy with nothing but grasses in my garden. Thanks for the pingback. Foliage from grasses gives so much movement to the garden. Yes please just add your link to the comments for this month. Christina

    • Our names in the header of every comment already links to our blog so I didn’t add anything else. I’ll have a look if I can help you figuring out how to put links on the post like Carol does. I think you (english) call muhlenbergia capilaris: muhly grass, or something like that. It could sound a bit of a showing off from me to mention every plant with latin name but for a latin rooted language like mine it is easier to remember and after all I should learn every name in english too, I don’t feel like it! Thanks for hosting this foliage day.

  2. Like your box balls in pots – such a good idea – we have some box balls in the rose garden where they look lovely all winter. We can hardly see them in the summer with the roses flowering over them. Once again your grasses are stunning with beautiful “Magic” the star of the show!

    • Thanks Pauline. Box balls are a rather classic in gardens but it always works. Ok stop with ‘Magic’ appreciations otherwise I really won’t be able to stop its ego!

  3. Hi,
    Beautiful photos; considering foliage of plants is a skill I am yet to acquire, however I am attempting to work more with grasses so hopefully one day I too will be able to join in with this meme!

    • Hi Liz! We are kind of obsessed about grasses (me, Christina, etc.) but you don’t need any to join this meme. I bet you could take a good pic to some crisp leaves!

  4. I love the combination of the purple and the green in your first photo, Alberto. And the box in the big pots adds structure to the planting. I have two smaller ones and they get moved around. But the star of the show is that pennisetum. I’m just getting my notebook out…

    Lovely post. I think the foliage addicts have done a great job on this meme.

    • Hi Janet, welcome! I love the combination in the first pic too, that part of the garden is all foliage based. There’s an itea virginica which turns orange behind but it is still too small to stand out. I have other smaller box balls that I keep moving around too…

  5. Great post…that Rubus is so striking! Is that the same plant I’ve seen referred to as “Ghose Bramble”? Of course, love all the grasses…just discovered Muhlenbergia a few seasons ago, and now it’s one of my favorite parts of fall…so very different from other grasses!

    • Well I think it’s quite similar to some other eragrostis but it is unique though. I don’t understand the meaning of ghose. Maybe ghost bramble? Because of its white bare stems in winter?!

Leave a Reply

