Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – October 2011

I know, I’m terribly late and I’m sorry, may I say the dogs ate my camera? Or my mac didn’t want to switch on? Or I could blame WordPress… No, I’ve just been veeery late every morning last week because temperatures have dropped down and we went from linen to a thick duvet in less than 2 weeks, so sleeping in the morning is so lovely now… then I have to rush to work, with no time to take pictures. I remedied yesterday by the way, and I have plenty of pictures to make me forgive.

We’ve had a lot of wind lately so the Grass Garden and everything is a little messed up. I like it more this way than when it’s tidy though, it feels more natural and free and I don’t care if some plant are overwhelming some other plant, season is coming to an end and perennials will go to sleep pretty soon, leaving their skeletons to mark their absence…

Veronicastrum album has become even more interesting with its maroon seedheads, textures in the grass garden are very complex even under this still strong light

Veronicastrum album has become even more interesting with its maroon seedheads, textures in the grass garden are very complex even under this still strong light

Pennisetum orientalis 'Tall Tails' blooms whenever it feels like. This year I had a first batch in late june but I bet this is its main bloom.

Pennisetum orientalis 'Tall Tails' blooms whenever it feels like. This year I had a first batch in late june but I bet this is its main bloom.

A close-up of aster 'Monte Cassino' is rather bushy and a real flood of white little starry flowers, I love it.

A close-up of aster 'Monte Cassino' is rather bushy and a real flood of white little starry flowers, I love it.

This is exactly what I meant with 'messed up' but the look is pretty, with all those stratifications of old glories (like the achillea skeletons), reblooms (like helenium 'waldtraut' and the workaholic verbena bonariens) and new features (like the white native asters)

This is exactly what I meant with 'messed up' but the look is pretty, with all those stratifications of old glories (like the achillea skeletons), reblooms (like helenium 'waldtraut' and the workaholic verbena bonariens) and new features (like the white native asters)

A close-up of verbena Stakanov bonariensis

A close-up of verbena Stakanov bonariensis

Viewed from another angle the mix totally changes and the only plant left from above is helenium 'Waldtraut', here is the fading (and recently cut back a little) pennisetum 'Magic' mingling with echinacea purpurea seed heads

Viewed from another angle the mix totally changes and the only plant left from above is helenium 'Waldtraut', here is the fading (and recently cut back a little) pennisetum 'Magic' mingling with echinacea purpurea seed heads

The left part of the Grass Garden is at its best this month. Roses are in full bloom, like it was May here are chinensis Odorata in the foreground and Cécile Brunner on the right, Miscanthus 'Gnome' in the middle with aster and pennisetum 'Hameln'

The left part of the Grass Garden is at its best this month. Roses are in full bloom, like it was May here are chinensis Odorata in the foreground and Cécile Brunner on the right, Miscanthus 'Gnome' in the middle with aster and pennisetum 'Hameln'

Ok, I have a soft spot for white little-flowered asters, what's the problem?

Ok, I have a soft spot for white little-flowered asters, what's the problem?

Nicotiana sylvestris is a late bloomer but when it starts it's a beautiful feature: for the eyes and for the nose too! Here it's amongst dried descampsia caespitosa which I have to move entirely next spring, I want this bed to be completely replanted.

Nicotiana sylvestris is a late bloomer but when it starts it's a beautiful feature: for the eyes and for the nose too! Here it's amongst dried descampsia caespitosa which I have to move entirely next spring, I want this bed to be completely replanted.

Miscanthus purpurascens, a close-up of fading and new flowers

Miscanthus purpurascens, a close-up of fading and new flowers

In the frontal border of the Grass Garden amni visnaga is still in flower, as well as gaura lindheimerii which is indispensable to me

In the frontal border of the Grass Garden amni visnaga is still in flower, as well as gaura lindheimerii which is indispensable to me

Another real workaholic is erigeron karvinskianus, here peeping through santolina, I love this simple combination

Another real workaholic is erigeron karvinskianus, here peeping through santolina, I love this simple combination

All the salvia microphylla are flowering like mads, better than all summer, shame the only one I can picture without flashing your eyes with magenta is salvia 'Navajo'

All the salvia microphylla are flowering like mads, better than all summer, shame the only one I can picture without flashing your eyes with magenta is salvia 'Navajo'

A close-up of the beautiful salvia 'Navajo'

A close-up of the beautiful salvia 'Navajo'

Finally I too have pictured a butterfly! Obviously I don’t know her name, I know, I should have ask before she left. I am a little disappointed because one of the few butterflies I can picture is not that pretty… she looks like a caterpillar in a smart funeral dress…

A fat and furry butterfly feeding on verbena bonariensis

A fat and furry butterfly feeding on verbena bonariensis

Hold on, hold on, because there are some good news which are better than white asters to me: yesterday my parents came and daddy helped me restoring the first floor balconies, so I scratched away the old dusty colour and he painted them.

Please note the fine reflection on the window, because this is a gardening blog, not a house-build one!

Please note the fine reflection on the window, because this is a gardening blog, not a house-build one!

But there’s more! Much more! They came with this red paint bucket. As my father is colour blind I did not want him to buy me any colour but he can’t help it and he’s a kind of a primadonna sometimes, so you have to let him do and then clap your hands and smile when he’s finished. Then you can clean everything up and restore it as before, when he’s gone.

This time Giuseppe, the colour blind dad, the one who doesn’t distinguish pink from maroon, nor orange from sea blue, the one who -I think- can see colours like goats do, well he was right. Right at the first shot! Unbelievable!

He painted a part of the south wall with red. I want to settle the sight and imagine how it would look when done. I must admit I like it. What do you reckon? I want to frame all the windows with an ivory white trim.

Will this be the ultimate colour of Cà Rossa?

Will this be the ultimate colour of Cà Rossa?

And finally we went on with the Rose Garden beds, there’s another wider one, which will be divided in 3 beds. All the new bare-root roses I’ve ordered should arrive in one month or so.

Mina is checking for moles

Mina is checking for moles

Thank you for passing by and eventually dropping a line.

Do you really want to end up biting your lips with envy?? Follow the link and see what is blooming in gardens around the World thanks to Carol from May Dreams Gardens and Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day.

14 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day – October 2011

  1. Your garden is looking super still with the contrasting textures of your grasses and asters, very artistic. Your butterfly is a Red Admiral, so maybe not a lady after all! They are found all over Europe and are frequent visitors to our garden here. We also have plenty of moles, so if Mina would like to come and find them, we would be very grateful!!

    • Oh so my butterfly is a HE. Now I understand many things about him. It’s a caterpillar in disguise. I had many beautiful butterflies in my previous garden, we call them Macaone (I think it’s swallowtail), children need to feed on fennel, which my garden was full of, and grown-ups like verbena bonariensis and buddlejas. In this garden I can’t make purple fennel survive (don’t ask…!), so I have only boring fat and furry butterflies.
      The thing with Mina is that she only checks for moles. She doesn’t hunt them.
      PS: I tried and fed birds as my bushes are too small to produce satisfying meals but Tigre brought home 2 redbreasts in 2 days. I think I’ll give up. 😦

  2. Absolutely stunning post…loved every single photo…and I totally agree, there is something so satisfying about the garden as it starts to tip over into fall. There is just something with the garden as it slips from decadence into decay 🙂

    • Thanks Scott! From decadence into decay… This is very deep. And true. Frost is coming so I think everything will turn sepia tones pretty soon…
      I’m waiting for a reply about your persicaria seeds… I’m kind of stubborn when I decide something, you know…

  3. The gardens look glorious in the fall light! And I love the images of your house painting of course– The shutters are the same color as the ones on my house. I will have to think about the red for the walls. I do like red and green together. I think I would make the red less orange. (Perhaps more of a beet red?) But color is so subjective. I wonder if the moles at my house dig deep and then come up at your house? Mina knows.

    • The red assumes an orange tinge only under strong light and especially in pictures. In reality it is more moderate. The thing I didn’t want was an orange tinge. Shutters is the word, I wrote balconies I think it’s wrong, thanks.
      Mina told me she’s been seeing moles with a straw hat and a camera, she thinks they’re american tourists. Tonight I dreamt I killed a mole with a big fork. The mole was giant, probably an american one, and I was so sadistic… I shouldn’t have had roasted beet leftovers for dinner…

  4. Hi Alberto, I don’t think te butterfly is a red admiral, there’s not enough red on it, but maybe its related. Yes, shutters is the word, but you do amazingly well writing in your second language. You grasses are just wonderful, I love them all and covert them all. You have a lot of space to garden, a lot of work, but worth it. Christina

    • OK, let’s say it’s a red admiral in a very bad day. Ale told me it’s a Vanessa, which should translate like red admiral, maybe the ones we have around here they’re more in a dark mood…
      A lot of space, a lot of work and we’re looking forward, we wonder on conquering the land around sometimes… I’d like to have a strip of land behind the house (east facing) for a vegetable garden and some breathe around the house and even we think about buying the west facing meadow and plant some other trees… Money money… sometimes dreams are not enough.

  5. Now, ok, I know people keep telling you on how great your grasses are, well you will just have to put up with it, its fantastic. I do like the garden at this stage, always appealed to me. The salvia ‘Navajo’ is very special, I haven’t seen it before. Your butterfly is a red admiral, for some reason I have found that he photographs at times with a paler shade than he actually is. Red and green, what is it they say —should never be seen, well some folks say its blue and green, but their wrong..

    • Well to be honest people keep telling me I’m silly. 🙂
      So you suggest to put grasses in the Rose Garden too? Because I love old roses too, I couldn’t give up with them. I think I will plant other grasses and perennials amongst roses though. I’m thinking of a brand new plan for the descampsia bed. It was supposed to be an almost monospecific bed but descampsia doesn’t thrive there, too dry. I’ll move the survivor clumps under the cherry trees and I will improve that bed with some new grass next spring… I have to try and take some cuttings from that pale yellow salvia, I like it a lot too. It didn’t thrive in my previous garden though, so I didn’t bother taking cuttings in the past, there was nothing to cut…

  6. OMG…totally! I forgot to mention that! Yes…let me know your address and I’ll send you some of the Persicaria seeds…I should have plenty 🙂

Leave a Reply

